CompTIA A+

The CompTIA A+ certification is the starting point for a career in IT. The exams cover maintenance of PCs, mobile devices, laptops, operating systems and printers.

Why CompTIA A+?

Required for Dell, Intel and Lenovo service techs
Recognized by U.S. Dept. of Defense
An ANSI accredited Certifier – 0731
Held by 900,000 IT professionals

Jobs that use CompTIA A+

Technical support specialist
Field service technician
IT support technician
IT support administrator
IT support specialist

Certification Information

In order to receive the CompTIA A+ certification, you must pass two exams.

CompTIA A+ 220-801 covers the fundamentals of computer technology, installation and configuration of PCs, laptops and related hardware, and basic networking.

CompTIA A+ 220-802 covers the skills required to install and configure PC operating systems, as well as configuring common features (e.g. network connectivity and email) for mobile operating systems Android and Apple iOS.

CompTIA A+ certifications issued in 2011 or later are valid for three years. You can keep your certification current through the Continuing Education Program.
Test Details
Required exams CompTIA A+ 220-801 and CompTIA A+ 220-802
CompTIA A+ JK0-801 and JK0-802 (for CompTIA Academy Partners Only)
Number of questions Maximum of 90
Type of questions Multiple choice and performance-based
Length of test 90 minutes
Recommended experience Six to 12 months hands-on experience in the lab or field
Passing score CompTIA A+ 220-801: 675 (on a scale of 900)
CompTIA A+ 220-802: 700 (on a scale of 900)
Languages English, Japanese, German, Thai, Spanish,
Simplified Chinese, French, Arabic, Brazilian Portuguese

Thanks to our CompTIA A+ Certification Advisory Committee [+]

Additional A+ Resources

See what’s on the test – download exam objectives
View sample exam questions
Find exam training materials
Purchase a voucher