Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

For the Next Generation of Information Security Leaders

CISSP® certification is a globally recognized standard of achievement that confirms an individual’s knowledge in the field of information security. CISSPs are information assurance professionals who define the architecture, design, management and/or controls that assure the security of business environments. It was the first certification in the field of information security to meet the stringent requirements of ISO/IEC Standard 17024.

Confirming One’s Knowledge and Experience

The CISSP exam tests one’s competence in the ten CISSP domains of the (ISC)²® CBK®, which cover critical topics in security today, including risk management, cloud computing, mobile security, application development security and more. Candidates must have a minimum of five years of paid full-time work experience in two of the ten domains. This vast breadth of knowledge and the experience it takes to pass the exam is what sets the CISSP apart.

CISSPs often hold job functions including:

Security Consultant
Security Manager
IT Director/Manager
Security Auditor
Security Architect

Security Analyst
Security Systems Engineer
Chief Information Security Officer
Director of Security
Network Architect

The CISSP exam is based on the following ten domains:

Access Control
Telecommunications and Network Security
Information Security Governance and Risk Management
Software Development Security
Security Architecture and Design
Operations Security
Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Planning
Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Compliance
Physical (Environmental) Security

For more information on the CISSP credential, download the CISSP Brochure.

Don’t yet have the necessary experience? If you’re working on building your experience right now, you may earn the Associate of (ISC)² designation by passing the required CISSP examination.

All (ISC)² certifications, except CCFP and HCISPP, are accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) to be in compliance with the International Organization for Standardization and International Electrotechnical Commission (ISO/IEC) 17024 Standards.